Benjamin Beilman

Benjamin Beilman

Join brilliant young American violinist Benjamin Beilman in the atmospheric surroundings of Dublin’s Freemasons’ Hall on 13 December 2015, accompanied by acclaimed pianist Huw Watkins.

Tour Dates

Sun 13 Dec, 6pm, €25 / €20 (includes festive reception) Freemasons' Hall, Dublin 2

At the age of just twenty-five, Beilman has won plaudits across the globe for his passionate performances and deep rich tone. Impeccable technique is matched with impulsive spirit and songful lyricism to create a dramatic and charming performance style. Beilman has received several prestigious awards including a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship, a London Music Masters Award, and First Prize at the Montréal International Musical Competition. He has played with orchestras such as the London Philharmonic, Tonhalle, Basel Symphony, and in North America the San Francisco, Detroit, and Los Angeles Chamber orchestras amongst others.

For this special end of year concert, Beilman is accompanied by Welsh pianist Huw Watkins: one of Britain’s foremost performers and composers. In great demand with orchestras including the London Sinfonietta, Britten Sinfonia and the BBC orchestras, The Telegraph deemed his contribution to British music so important that “if he caught a cold most of Britain’s summer festival season would collapse.” 

Beginning with Schubert’s beautiful Violin Sonata in A Major “Grand Duo”, the intriguing programme for this concert follows Janáček’s intense Violin Sonata JW VII with Bach’s radiant Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major, concluding with a work by Ravel and Philip Martin’s Homer Blues.

Benjamin Beilman, violin
Huw Watkins, piano

Sun 13 Dec Freemasons' Hall, Dublin 2 6pm, €25 / €20 (includes festive reception) 01 4750224 Music Network

Franz Schubert: Violin Sonata in A Major “Grand Duo”, Op. 162, D.574
Leoš Janáček: Violin Sonata JW VII/7
J.S. Bach: Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major BWV 1006
Philip Martin: Homer Blues           
Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Major M.77

Benjamin Beilman and Juho Pohjonen - Schubert Fantasy in C major for Violin and Piano

Benjamin Beilman - Sibelius Violin Concerto - 1st Movement

"A pure, uncommonly rich, tone…it was completely assured, absolutely certain, and undeniably charming."

- San Diego Union Tribune, on Beilman

"What an amazing musician Watkins is, this unfailingly dependable and musical pianist who seems to be everywhere."

- The Telegraph