Arts Council Music Recording Scheme

Artist Amount Awarded
Dublin Guitar Quartet €4,150
Towards the recording of their arrangements of Philip Glass’ String Quartets for release on Glass’ own label, Orange Mountain Music. Dublin Guitar Quartet is the only guitar quartet to perform these works, so the recording will be a first, both globally and domestically.
Eamonn Quinn €10,000
Towards Louth Contemporary Music Societys fourth CD Polyhymnia which explores folk forms in contemporary music, featuring works by Irish,Turkish, Greek and Italian composers, performed by Malachy Robinson (double bass),Deirdre O'Leary (clarinet), Cliona Doris (harp), Maria McGarry (piano), Garth Knox (viola), Michael O Toole (guitar), Johnny O Shea (guitar)and Patricia Rozario (soprano).
Benedict Schlepper-Connolly €9,995
To record Ergodos Musicians’ ‘All the Ends of the Earth’ project, a meditation on the works of 12th century French composer Leonin by three contemporary Irish composers (Linda Buckley, Garrett Sholdice, Benedict Schlepper-Connolly).
Laoise O'Brien €9,100
To record an eclectic mix of early art and folk music aimed at children and families, as part of an ongoing collaboration with visual artist Lorna Donlon, drawing inspiration from children’s stories and folklore. The recording will also promote the recorder beyond that of a learning tool.
Christopher Marwood €9,440
To record a body of work by Irish composer Deirdre Gribben, marking the culmination of over 10 years of collaboration between composer and artists, featuring the Vanbrugh Quartet, with Ailish Tynan (soprano), Finghin Collins (piano), and Mark O’Keeffe (trumpet).
John Godfrey €7,779
To record the Quiet Music Ensemble performing works specially commissioned from Alvin Lucier, David Toop, and John Godfrey, in addition to works by John Cage and George Brecht, performed by Ilse De Ziah (cello), Roderick O’Keeffe (trombone), Daniel Bodwell (double bass), Seán Mac Erlaine (alto & soprano sax, clarinet and bass clarinet).
Peter Whelan €7,360
To record ‘The Proud Bassoon’, an album of virtuoso music for solo bassoon and continuo from the baroque era, featuring some of the most challenging music written for bassoon, performed by Peter Whelan (bassoon) with Ensemble Marsyas: Philippe Grisvard (harpsichord/organ), Sarah McMahon (cello), Thomas Dunford (theorbo).
Shane Latimer €5,220
To produce a recording of his own compositions, influenced by free jazz, ambient, hip hop and funk, with the group OKO, performed by Darragh O Kelly (keyboards), Shane Latimer (guitar), Shane O Donovan (drums), Jack McMahon (turntables/samples/reeds).
David Redmond €8,456
To record a body of his own jazz compositions, featuring David Redmond (double bass), Bill Carothers (piano), Jason Rigby (saxophone), and Kevin Brady (drums).