Arts Council Music Recording Scheme

The total award fund for this round of applications was €71,500 to 10 applicants

Artist Amount Awarded
Ian Wilson €6,388.50
Ian Wilson awarded €6,388.50 towards the recording of three of his recent chamber works for Riverrun Records (UK) and will feature the RTE Vanburgh Quartet, Hugh Tinney (piano); Cathal Roche (saxophone) and Malachy Robinson (double bass)
Eamonn Quinn €10,000
Eamonn Quinn (Louth Contemporary Music Society) awarded €10,000 towards the recording of recent compositions of major international composers including Arvo Pärt, John Tavener. The recording will involve Michael McHale (piano); Patricia Rozario (soprano); Vourneen Ryan (flute); Elizabeth Cooney (violin); Owen Gilhooley (baritone); Brian Bolger (guitar); Cian O’Duill (viola); Malachy Robinson (double bass); Deirdre O’Leary (clarinets); Stephen Kelly (percussion); and Brian O’Kane (cellist). The CD will be released using their own label and distributed by Propernote as well and digital formats.
Dónall Donnelly €5,960
Dónall Donnelly awarded €5,960 towards a recording of neglected traditional tunes and his own recent compositions with Fiachra Mac Gabhann (bouzouki, guitar, mandolin, vocals); Brian Hanlon (bodhrán, guitar, banjo, bouzouki, vocals); Stijn van Beek (uilleann pipes, low whistle); Cathal Hayden (fiddle) and will feature Dónall Donnelly (flute).
Jonathan Grimes €4,000
Jonathan Grimes (Contemporary Music Centre) awarded €4,000 towards the recording of Volume 9 of the Contemporary Music Centre. The CD will feature up to 12 recent works by Irish composers performed by both Irish and international musicians. The CD will be widely distributed by CMC to both the general public and targeted at specific national and international agencies.
Frances Mitchell €6,451.50
Frances Mitchell (Crash Ensemble) awarded €6,451.50 towards the recording of the Kevin Volan's piece ‘Trumpet Vibes Cello Piano’ with Andy Crowley (trumpet); Owen Gunnell (vibes); Kate Ellis (cello) and John Godfrey (piano). The CD will be widely distributed by Crash Ensemble using a range of traditional and digital media.
Nick Roth €8,000
Nick Roth awarded €8,000 towards a recording Phase II of the Solo Series. This recording will focus on producing recordings by 4 of leading string players in their respective genres (Cora Venus Lunny (violin); Kate Ellis (cello); Adrian Hart (violin); Caomhín Ó Raghallaigh (fiddle). Diatribe Records will undertake the recording and distribution.
Malcolm Proud €4,900
Malcolm Proud (Camerata Kilkenny) awarded €4,900 towards a recording with Camerata Kilkenny along with Moya Homburger and Wilbert Hazelzet of J.S. Bach’s The Musical Offering on period instruments. Maya Recordings will release and distribute the recording.
Eibhlín Gleeson €9,000
Eibhlín Gleeson (National Chamber Choir) awarded €9,000 towards a recording of works by 20th and 21st Century Irish composers who have made significant contributions to Irish choral repertoire. The works will be conducted by Paul Hillier with special guest Iarla Ó Lionáird.
Finghin Collins €7,800
Finghin Collins awarded €7,800 towards a recording of Charles Villers Stanford’s Second Piano Concerto. The recording and distribution will be undertaken by Swiss company Claves.
Callino Quartet €9,000
Callino Quartet (Sarah Sexton) awarded €9,000 towards a recording of Haydn’s Seven Last Words Op. 51 a piece that the quartet has a particular affinity with. To be recorded on their own label and distributed online.