Music Network Performance and Touring Award

June 2011

A fund of €27,150 was awarded to 6 applicants as follows:

Artist Amount Awarded
Michael Joyce €5,806
towards a 6-date concert tour with outreach activity by Sabine Ducrot (flute) and Michael Joyce (piano). Tour features works by Dutilleux, Poulenc, Franck, and Richard Strauss, and visits Ennis, Limerick, Callan (Co. Kilkenny), Waterford, Cork and Dublin during September and October 2011.
Matthew Jacobson €5,880
towards a 5-date tour by ReDiviDeR (Matthew Jacobson, drums/percussion; Nick Roth, alto saxophone; Colm O'Hara, trombone; Derek Whyte, bass) to launch the group’s debut album. Tour takes place during November 2011, visiting Limerick, Waterford, Cork, Mullingar, Dublin.
Maria McGarry €6,196
towards a 5-date solo tour visiting Callan (Co. Kilkenny), Ballina, Ennis, Sligo and Castlebar during November and December 2011. Repertoire includes arrangements of J.S. Bach by Petri and Busoni as well as works by Granados and Schumann.
Robert Casey €1,598
towards a performance by Ailbhe McDonagh (cello) and Orla McDonagh (piano) in the John Field Room, National Concert Hall, Dublin, plus related outreach activity taking place in January 2012. Repertoire will include works by Franck, Britten, Pärt and Robert Casey.
Maria Ryan €3,025
towards a 3-date tour in January/February 2012, featuring Maria Ryan (violin) and Ciara Moroney (piano). The tour will showcase the Heineken Violin, most recently awarded to Maria Ryan, and will visit Callan (Co. Kilkenny), Wexford and Dublin. Featured works will span the lifetime of this Channot violin, including pieces by Mozart, Schubert, Szymanowski and Pärt.
Ben Cashell €4,645
towards a 4-date concert tour with outreach activity by The Herbert Cello Quartet (Paul Grennan, Peggy Nolan, Ben Cashell, Aoife Dennedy), featuring a diverse repertoire, including works by Bach, Mozart, Brahms, Mendelssohn, Piazzolla, Albeniz, Joplin, Sigur Ros, Muse, Metallica and Michael Jackson. Tour takes place during March 2012 and visits Ravensdale (Co. Louth), Drogheda, Calary (Co. Wicklow) and Dublin.