Music Network Performance and Touring Award

June 2009

A fund of €34,023 was awarded to a total of 4 applicants.

Artist Amount Awarded
Niwel Tsumbu €10,410
Towards a 12-concert “Song of the Nations” world music tour featuring Niwel Tsumbu (guitar, voice, percussion), Peter Erdei (bass), Eamonn Cagney (percussion), Kathryn Doehner (violin) and Clinio Cocuzza (clarinet), taking place in February/March 2010. Tour visits Drogheda, Tinahely, Listowel, Baile Mhuirne, Dublin, Inis Oirr, Letterkenny, Sligo, Castlebar, Clonakilty, Portlaoise and Wexford.
Nick Roth €8,123
Towards the “Evenset” 7-date winter tour by Yurodny and special guests Mihály Borbély (clarinet, taragato, soprano saxophone), Miklós Lukács (cimbalom), Tom Arthurs (trumpet, fluegelhorn), Paul Williamson (trumpet, fluegelhorn) and Ben Davis (cello). Tour visits Limerick, Navan, Cork, Dublin (including outreach workshop), Bray, Clonakilty, and Manorhamilton, features material from the group’s new album, and takes place during October/November 2009.
Aisling Ryan €7,750
Towards a 6-hour performance by the Quiet Music Ensemble (QME: John Godfrey, electric guitar; Daniel Bodwell, double bass; Roddy O'Keefe, trombone; Kate Ellis, cello; Deirdre O'Leary, clarinet) at the Dublin Electronic Arts Festival (DEAF) in October 2009. This 6-7 hour-long performance (including film screening and composer talk by David Toop) includes performance of a number of pieces commissioned by QME in 2008, as well as newly written works.
Brian Mooney €7,740
Towards the “New Sounds, Different Spaces” tour by Beautiful Unit (Brian Mooney, guitar, vocals; Jimmy Eadie, keyboards, bass; Brian O’Connell, percussion, vocals; Hector Castells, keyboard, visuals). 6-concert tour visits Dundrum, Thomastown, Galway, Sligo, Waterford and Clonakilty in October 2009, with performances in non-conventional spaces as well as more traditional gig venues with a view to breaking down the boundaries between performer and audience. Repertoire will feature pieces from the band’s "European Son" album (April 2009).