15 December 2011

Music Network today announced the results of the Music Capital Scheme. A total of €135,000 in funding from the Department of Arts, Heritage and Gaeltacht has been awarded to ten highly skilled individual musicians and thirteen non-professional performing groups.  
In 2011, there were two categories of support under the Music Capital Scheme aimed at professional performing artists and non-professional performing groups/ensembles.  The scheme elicited eighty-two applications across two funding streams with the value of funding requests totalling in excess of €893,227.
Funding was awarded across the not-for-profit and community music sector through Stream 1, providing community and music groups with funding.  Thirteen of the fifty-six applicants were awarded a total of €90,000 for the purchase of musical instruments in stream one. The awardees are Coolmine Therapeutic Community; MaSamba Samba School; Roscommon County Youth Orchestra ; New Ross and District Pipe Band; Co. Wexford Youth Orchestra; Julianstown Youth Orchestra; Liffey Valley Orchestra; Clondalkin Youth Band; Loch Garman Band; St Canice’s NS Instrumental Music Programme; Coole Music & Arts; Inbhear Mór Marching Band and Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann Killarney.

In Stream 2, funds of €45,000 were awarded to ten highly skilled musicians performing at professional level, to assist with the purchase of high-value instruments. The ten awardees were chosen from twenty-six applicants.  The awardees are Annette Cleary; Anna Cashell; Jesse Smith; Patrick Brunnock; Jessie Grimes; Matthew Noone; Shane Latimer; Barry Donohue; Eamon Sweeney and Naomi Berrill.

The Music Capital Scheme was launched by The Arts Council, The IRMA Trust and Music Network in 2008 as an action-research initiative designed to provide support for the purchase of musical instruments.  Due to the current economic climate, the award fund available was €135,000, rather than the €300,000 anticipated. Details of all awards made under the scheme can be seen at http://www.musicnetwork.ie/musicians/previous/.  Music Network is funded by The Arts Council.

Stream 1: Non-professional performing groups/ensembles
Fifty-six applications received with a total demand of €746,098. Awards made to thirteen applicants as follows:

1.    Coolmine Therapeutic Community, Dublin awarded €806
2.    MaSamba Samba School, Dublin awarded €2,958
3.    Roscommon County Youth Orchestra, Roscommon      awarded €12,610
4.    New Ross and District Pipe Band, Wexford  awarded €7,986
5.    Co. Wexford Youth Orchestra, Wexford awarded €9,540
6.    Julianstown Youth Orchestra, Meath      awarded €8,172
7.    Liffey Valley Orchestra, Kildare  awarded €5,500
8.    Clondalkin Youth Band, Dublin  awarded €6,372
9.    Loch Garman Band, Wexford  awarded €10,087
10.    St Canice’s NS Instrumental Music Programme, Kilkenny €5,856
11.    Coole Music & Arts, Wicklow awarded  €7,817
12.    Inbhear Mór Marching Band, Kerry  awarded €5,650
13.    Comhaltas Ceoltórí Éireann Killarney awarded €6,645

Stream 2 Awardees: Individual High-Value Instruments

Twenty-six applications received with a demand total of €147,129. Awards made to ten applicants as follows:

1.    Annette Cleary awarded €3,750 towards the purchase of a cello bow
2.    Anna Cashell awarded €16,012 towards the purchase of a violin
3.    Jesse Smith awarded €5,000 towards the purchase of a fiddle
4.    Patrick Brunnock awarded €3,000 towards the purchase of a classical guitar
5.    Jessie Grimes awarded €1,063 towards the purchase of a clarinet
6.    Matthew Noone awarded €610 towards the purchase of a sarode
7.    Shane Latimer awarded €2,529 towards the purchase of a guitar
8.    Barry Donohue awarded €3,000 towards the purchase of a bass guitar
9.    Eamon Sweeney awarded €2,332 towards the purchase of a 17th century guitar
10.    Naomi Berrill awarded €7,704 towards the purchase of a cello

For further information on the Music Capital Scheme visit www.musicnetwork.ie
or email capitalscheme@musicnetwork.ie, Tel. 01 6719429.