Award-winning Chatham Saxophone Quartet release first album featuring works by Irish composers

22 April 2015

To celebrate the recent release of New Irish Music, the first album by the award-winning ensemble Chatham Saxophone Quartet, Music Network is hosting a launch event in The Odessa Club, Dublin on Thursday 4 June 2015. New Irish Music, released on the RTÉ lyric fm label, features music by Irish composers including Brian Byrne, Ian Wilson, Brian Irvine, Jonathan Nangle and Kenneth Edge and is available in selected record shops and on iTunes, Spotify, and Amazon.  The launch event is free but ticketed. Email for tickets.

Runaway winners of Music Network's Young Musicwide Award in 2012, the superlative Chatham Saxophone Quartet has repeatedly won plaudits for its bravura performances and versatility.  The quartet's members - Daniel Dunne (soprano saxophone), Darren Hatch (alto saxophone), Ciaran Sutton (tenor saxophone) and Ian Finlay (baritone saxophone) - have worked closely with the RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet and ConTempo String Quartet in transcribing the string quartet repertoire for wind instruments. With an eclectic repertoire spanning contemporary, classical and jazz genres, as well as performing with multimedia works using tapes, tracks and visuals, this unique ensemble pushes the boundaries of what we know the saxophone quartet to be.

Committed to commissioning and performing works by Irish composers, Chatham Saxophone Quartet’s debut album comprises of new works by five Irish composers, including a Music Network commission by Golden Globe nominated composer Brian Byrne, Saxophone Quartet No. 1. The score “fits Chatham’s closely-knit ensemble like the proverbial glove,” according to the Irish Independent. Young bodhrán player Aimee Farrell-Courtney joins the group for a new arrangement of Ian Wilson’s 2009 work, heaven lay close... replacing the original tabla. Another Belfast-born composer, Brian Irvine, contributes a multimedia work to New Irish Music with Just a little lighter cut of the same girls, written for Chatham Saxophone Quartet with tape. Jonathan Nangle’s iridescent cobalt glow, commissioned by the group, is a minimalist work in three short movements. Completing the album is Dublin saxophonist and composer Kenneth Edge’s Three Études – programmatic pieces, each with a very distinct character.

Developed in 2001 by Music Network, Young Musicwide provides an incentive for highly talented young Irish musicians to pursue a professional career and gives promoters nationwide access to the very best in young Irish talent.  As awardees, Chatham Saxophone Quartet have performed throughout Ireland, produced their debut CD and have benefitted from a range of tailored supports. Previous recipients of the award include the Callino Quartet (2001); voice and piano duo Ailish Tynan and Deborah Kelleher (2002); clarinettist Carol McGonnell (2003); Organics jazz trio (2004); traditional Irish group Slide (2005), piano, cello and violin trio The Syrius Trio (2006) and harp, flute and viola trio, Triocca (2006), jazz quartet Trihornophone (2007), fiddle trio Fidil (2008), piano quartet Cappa Ensemble (2009), jazz quintet Thought-Fox (2010) and trad/bluegrass group We Banjo 3 (2011).

See more here.


Chatham Saxophone Quartet Dublin CD Launch
Thursday 4 June 2015 6:30pm
The Odessa Club, Dublin 2
Free but ticketed. Email for tickets.
Daniel Dunne (soprano saxophone); Darren Hatch (alto saxophone); Ciaran Sutton (tenor saxophone); Ian Finlay (baritone saxophone)

New Irish Music track listing:
1. Brian Byrne - Saxophone Quartet No. 1 (Commissioned by Music Network)
2-5. Ian Wilson - Heaven lay close…
6. Brian Irvine - Just a little lighter cut of the same girls
7. Jonathan Nangle - iridescent cobalt glow
8. Ken Edge - Etude #1 - Chatterbox
9. Ken Edge - Etude #2 - Too loud? Not loud enough
10.Ken Edge - Etude #3 - We just sat in the van (looking out to sea)