Brilliant young violinist Benjamin Beilman in concert with pianist Huw Watkins

29 October 2015

“A pure, uncommonly rich, tone…it was completely assured, absolutely certain, and undeniably charming.” – San Diego Union Tribune, on Beilman

“What an amazing musician Watkins is, this unfailingly dependable and musical pianist who seems to be everywhere.” – The Telegraph

Join brilliant young American violinist Benjamin Beilman in the atmospheric surroundings of Dublin’s Freemasons’ Hall on 13 December 2015, presented by Music Network. Accompanied by acclaimed pianist Huw Watkins, the programme includes Schubert, Bach and Ravel. More details here.

At the age of just twenty-five, Beilman has won plaudits across the globe for his passionate performances and deep rich tone. Impeccable technique is matched with impulsive spirit and songful lyricism to create a dramatic and charming performance style. Beilman has received several prestigious awards including a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship, a London Music Masters Award, and First Prize at the Montréal International Musical Competition. He has played with orchestras such as the London Philharmonic, Tonhalle, Basel Symphony, and in North America the San Francisco, Detroit, and Los Angeles Chamber orchestras amongst others.

For this special end of year concert, Beilman is accompanied by Welsh pianist Huw Watkins: one of Britain’s foremost performers and composers. In great demand with orchestras including the London Sinfonietta, Britten Sinfonia and the BBC orchestras, The Telegraph deemed his contribution to British music so important that “if he caught a cold most of Britain’s summer festival season would collapse.” Watkins’ outstanding pianism will provide impressive accompaniment to Bielman’s spirited performance.

Beginning with Schubert’s beautiful Violin Sonata in A Major “Grand Duo”, the intriguing programme for this concert follows Janáček’s intense Violin Sonata JW VII with Bach’s radiant Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major, concluding with a work by Ravel and Philip Martin’s Homer Blues.

This is Music Network’s eightieth concert of the year, following nine nationwide tours and a number of special events. Music Network is funded by the Arts Council. Tickets from €20 (includes festive reception) can be purchased by calling Music Network on (01) 4750224 or booking online here.

Franz Schubert: Violin Sonata in A Major “Grand Duo”, Op. 162, D.574
Leoš Janáček: Violin Sonata JW VII/7
J.S. Bach: Violin Partita No. 3 in E Major BWV 1006
Philip Martin: Homer Blues           
Maurice Ravel: Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Major M.77

Benjamin Beilman, violin
Huw Watkins, piano

Date: Sunday 13 December 2015
Time: 6pm
Venue: Freemasons’ Hall, 17 Molesworth Street, Dublin 2
Tickets: €25 / €20 (includes festive reception)
Booking: 01 4750224 /
Promoted by Music Network

More details here.