Commissioned programme notes for Furnace Mountain

22 October 2014

For each of our tours, we commission influential writers to add flavour to our programmes. Music writer Greg McAteer wrote the programme notes for the penultimate tour of 2014, bluegrass band Furnace Mountain, offering a fascinating insight into the origins of this genre. Greg says the music "reflects the sadnesses and sighs, whoops, hollers and joys of everyday existence." Read them here.


Take a look at Music Network's archived programme notes:

Paul O'Connor on Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh;

Ellen Cranitch on Séamus Begley, Catriona McKay and Chris Stout;

Paul O'Connor on Alasdair Fraser, Natalie Haas and Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh

Pat O'Kelly on Rachel Kolly d'Alba and Christian Chamorel;

Liam Cagney on the Attacca Quartet

Ian Patterson on Little Radio

Paul O'Connor on Dirk Powell, Brendan Gleeson, Mike McGoldrick and Francis Gaffney

and Chloe Cutts on Nikolay Khozyainov.