Multi-award winning Amatis Piano Trio tour 8 - 17 October presented by Music Network

28 August 2018



“Young, enormously talented and extremely exciting” – Rhein-Neck-Zeitung 

“The day’s real substance came in a light and deft performance of Ravel’s Piano Trio by the Amatis Trio” – The Irish Times 

“Breathtaking” –

This October, experience the consummate musicianship of the multi-award winning Amatis Piano Trio, widely acclaimed for their intensity, passion and beautifully-nuanced performances. Lea Hausmann (violin), Samuel Shepherd (cello) and Mengjie Han (piano) will perform trios by Haydn, Schumann, Mendelssohn and a new work by Irish composer Amanda Feery (commissioned by Music Network) from 8 – 17 October 2018, details at 

Just weeks after forming in 2014, this exhilarating young piano trio won the audience prize at the Grachtenfestival-Concours in Amsterdam, quickly leading to their debut at the Royal Concertgebouw. Since then, they’ve taken the chamber music scene by storm, winning a slew of international prizes including the 2015 International Parkhouse Award in Wigmore Hall. For the 2018/2019 season, the trio has been selected as ‘Rising Stars’ by the European Concert Hall Organisation, which will see them perform in 23 prestigious concert venues across Europe.

The three players combine to create a gloriously balanced sound, the sensitivity of Dutch-Chinese pianist Mengjie Han a wonderful counterpoint to the exuberant energy of British cellist Samuel Shepherd and the delicate precision of German violinist Lea Hausmann. Known for playing intense and often highly-charged programmes, with a repertoire spanning from Haydn to Shostakovich, the trio is equally committed to contemporary works, in 2015 founding the Dutch Piano Trio Composition Prize to encourage young composers to further the repertoire.

Amanda Feery has been commissioned by Music Network to compose a new work especially for this tour which will receive its premiere performance at the Linenhall Arts Centre in Castlebar on Monday 8th October and will become an addition to the repertory of works by Irish composers already commissioned by Music Network. Gone to Earth is inspired by the Mary Webb novel of the same name, and she describes the music as depicting “a propulsive chase followed by a respite and refuge”. Amanda will introduce her piece in person at the concert in Tullynally Castle, Castlepollard on Friday 12th October.

Music Network’s mission is to make live music available and accessible to as many people as possible, giving Irish audiences the chance to experience the very best in international chamber, jazz and traditional music in venues throughout Ireland at affordable prices. All tours are co-promoted with a network of valued partner promoters across the country in order to develop local capacity to provide musical activity. In addition, Music Network connects its tours with music education programmes and groups around the country including Music Generation participants, primary, second and third level students, Music Capital Scheme awardees, and music schools and groups nationwide.

Tickets for St. Finian’s Church in Dublin city centre on Wednesday 10 October range from €10 - €20, classical bundles for three concerts in the autumn season are available from €50 and can be purchased by calling Music Network on (01) 475 0224 or booking online at (booking fees apply). Tickets for all regional concerts are available from individual venues. Music Network tours are funded by the Arts Council and supported by RTÉ Supporting the Arts.



Amatis Piano Trio (Netherlands/Germany/UK) presented by Music Network

Lea Hausmann, violin
Samuel Shepherd, cello
Mengjie Han, piano

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809) 
Trio in C major, Hob XV:27 
I.   Allegro
II.  Andante
III. Presto
Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856)
Trio No. 3 in G minor, Op. 110                             
I.   Bewegt, doch nicht zu rasch
II.  Ziemlich langsam
III. Rasch 
IV. Kräftig, mit Humor
Amanda Feery (b.1984) 
Gone to Earth (New commission by Music Network)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 – 1847)
Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49                          
I.   Molto allegro agitato
II.  Andante con moto tranquillo
III. Scherzo: Leggiero e vivace
IV. Finale. Allegro assai appassionato
On tour 8th – 17th October 2018 

  • Monday 8th October, Linenhall Arts Centre, Castlebar, 8pm, €17 / €14, 094-9023733 /
  • Wednesday 10th October, St. Finian’s Church, Dublin 2, 8pm, €20 / €15 / €10, 01-4750224 /, promoted by Music Network
  • Thursday 11th October, The Courthouse Arts Centre, Tinahely, 8.30pm, €16 / €14, 0402-38529 /
  • Friday 12th October, Tullynally Castle, Castlepollard, 8pm, €20 / €10, 087 683 9061 /, promoted by Derravaragh Music Association
  • Saturday 13th October, Triskel Christchurch, Cork, 1pm, €10 / €8, 021-4272022 /
  • Sunday 14th October, Siamsa Tíre, Tralee, 3pm, €16 / €14, 066-7123055 /
  • Tuesday 16th October, All Saints Church, Castleconnell, 8pm, €15 / €10, 061-953400 /, promoted by Limerick Culture and Arts Office, Limerick City and County Council as part of the Castleconnell Concert Series
  • Wednesday 17th October, Georgian Large Room, Waterford, 7.30pm, €17 / €15 / €5 (students), tickets on the door, for information see, promoted by Waterford Music


For further information/images please contact:
Louise Walsh, Communications Manager, Music Network: (01) 4750224 or