24 November 2010

Music Network today (24 November) announced the results of the 2010 Music Recording Scheme and the final round for 2010 of the Performance & Touring Award.  As the national music development agency, these funding supports are part of a range of Music Network activities that aim to support professional musicians in Ireland.

The Music Recording Scheme was set up to provide support for professional performers and composers in Ireland through awarding funding for music recording. A total award fund of €71,500 was available in 2010. The scheme was open to working professionals, including established composers and performers working in any musical genre of music wishing to make a recording that would be unlikely to be commercially viable without grant aid.

In total, 62 applications were received, broadly definable as: 17 classical/contemporary classical; 16 rock/pop; 15 traditional/folk; 11 jazz/world; 3 cross-over/other. Given the limitations of funding available, a number of high quality and worthy proposals were necessarily turned down. The total amount sought by applicants to this round of the scheme was €465,583.  Given the limited budget available, the panel chose to allocate a total of €71,500 to 9 applicants, as follows:

  • Michael Coady awarded €7,000.09 towards the first album of the Mick Coady Quintet.
  • Zoe Conway (fiddle) awarded €4,696 towards an album of new Irish music with guitarist John McIntyre, due for release in early 2012, featuring original music from 12 renowned living Irish traditional composers specifically composed for this duo. 
  • Seán MacErlaine awarded €3,870 towards his debut solo CD of new original compositions and arrangements for woodwinds and electronics.
  • Niamh Ní Charra awarded €9,952 towards the recording of material resulting from a 2009 Music Network Irish/Basque traditional music concert tour featuring Niamh Ní Charra (fiddle, concertina), Ibon Coteron (alboka, txistu, gaita) and Gavin Ralston (guitar).
  • Eamonn Quinn awarded €10,000 towards Louth Contemporary Music Society’s third CD, featuring working by major composers including Sofia Gubaidulina performed by renowned Irish and international musicians.
  • Garrett Sholdice awarded €9,999.99 towards a recording on the Ergodos label of new works and arrangements by composers from the cutting edge of Irish composition, inspired by the JS Bach organ chorale prelude "Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ". 
  • Abigail Smith awarded €8,000 towards the professional recording of a new song cycle she is composing with the support of the Arts Council. 
  • Allen Smith awarded €7,912 towards a recording by Dublin City Jazz Orchestra of an album featuring 9 new works by Irish composers commissioned for the orchestra.
  • Francesco Turrisi awarded €9,850 towards a recording project entitled Corti vol. 1: a series of 3 short-playing CDs with different artistic line-ups, and showcasing different musical genres/styles, featuring high quality Irish and international artists.


With funding from the Arts Council, the new Performance and Touring Award was developed in 2006 by Music Network, to assist Irish and Ireland-based musicians in realising performance opportunities. 

In total, 14 applications were received in the October 2010 round, broadly definable as 6 classical/contemporary classical; 3 jazz; 3 traditional; 2 mixed-genres (contemporary/jazz/trad).  The total amount sought by applicants to this round of the scheme was €82,956.65.  However given the limited budget available, the panel chose to allocate the available fund of €27,544 to 6 applicants as follows:

  • Robert Casey awarded €1,744 towards “Compositions for Strings, Percussion and Piano”, a concert taking place in the National Concert Hall, featuring Robert Casey, piano; Emily Thyne, violin; Stephanie McCabe, viola; Ailbhe McDonagh, cello; Dan Bodwell, double bass; David Lacey, percussion. 
  • Alex Mathias awarded €5,450 towards a 5-date tour by the Alex Mathias Quartet featuring Jake Hertzog (electric guitar, USA). Tour takes place in April 2011 and visits Wexford, Waterford, Sligo, Navan and Bray.
  • Isabelle O’Connell (solo piano) awarded €800 towards a solo recital and workshop as part of the New SoundWorlds series at the National Concert Hall in March 2011. 
  • Paul Roe awarded €9,600 towards a 4-date tour of “Solo Series Live”, featuring Paul Roe, clarinet/bass clarinet; Isabelle O’Connell, piano; Simon Jermyn, guitar; Izumi Kimura, piano. Tour takes place in June 2011 and visits Letterkenny, Bray, Carlow and Cork.
  • Francesco Turrisi awarded €3,420 towards “Alone Together”: a series of 6 concerts in the Kevin Barry Room, National Concert Hall, Dublin, taking place between January and November 2011, each featuring pianist Francesco Turrisi alongside a different Irish or international guest artist.  Guest artists include Lauren Kinsella, voice; Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, fiddle; Róisín El Safty, sean-nós; Adrian Hart, electronics; Ben Davis, cello; Doron Sherwin, cornetto.
  • Ger Wolfe awarded €6,530 towards "Na Clathacha/Stepping Stones": a 7-date tour, taking place in April/May 2011, visiting Listowel, Bray, Carlow, Newbridge, Báile Mhuirne, The Naul, Cork. 

The deadlines for applications for the Performance and Touring Award and the Music Recording Scheme in 2011 will be announced in the New Year along with details on how to apply. Both schemes are open to musicians and ensembles of all genres that are of Irish nationality or resident in Ireland.  Further information available from Music Network, Coach House, Dublin Castle, Dublin 2, 01 6719429 or from