Music Network presents cellist Emmanuelle Bertrand and pianist Pascal Amoyel, on tour 21 - 20 March

09 February 2017

Music Network presents celebrated French cellist Emmanuelle Bertrand and acclaimed recitalist Pascal Amoyel (France) on tour 21 - 30 March


“A gleaming performance of Debussy’s Cello Sonata from Bertrand and pianist Pascal Amoyel” – The Guardian

“Together they make eloquent magic” – San Francisco Chronicle  

“Rich pickings! Bertrand and Amoyel complement each other superbly.” – BBC Music Magazine


Drink in the honeyed tones of French cellist Emmanuelle Bertrand performing with long-term collaborator and acclaimed recitalist Pascal Amoyel on piano from 21 – 30 March on a Music Network tour. These two artists make a terrific duo, bringing real passion to everything they play. For their Irish tour they will perform a programme of Romantic music by Fauré, Saint-Saëns, Liszt, Brahms and music by Irish composer Kevin Volans. More details at

Music Network is delighted to showcase the celebrated French cellist Emmanuelle Bertrand, winner of a prestigious Victoire de la Musique Classique (a French Grammy). Acclaimed for her technical prowess, “haunting” lyricism and exquisite tone, Emmanuelle has performed as a soloist with the Flanders Symphony Orchestra, Moscow State Symphony Orchestra and Orchestre Symphonique du Grand Montréal amongst others.

Voted “Solo Instrumental Discovery of the Year” at the Victoires de la Musique in 2005, Pascal Amoyel has established himself as a pianist of note with an impressive career both as a soloist and a chamber musician, appearing with orchestras throughout Europe, America, Russia, Japan and China.

The duo have performed together for many years, garnering widespread acclaim from critics and audiences alike and in particular for the “wonderful singing quality” of their playing – the nuanced phrasing of Amoyel the perfect foil for the glowing tones and textures of Bertrand’s cello. Unmissable!

Music Network tours are funded by the Arts Council and are presented in association with RTÉ lyric fm. This tour is presented in partnership with the French Embassy in Ireland. Tickets for all regional concerts are available from individual venues around the country. Single tickets for Dublin concerts range from €10 – €20 (including concert programme) and can be purchased by calling Music Network on (01) 475 0224 or booking online at


Gabriel Fauré, Après un rêve, Op. 7, No.1

Gabriel Fauré, Élégie, Op.24

Camille Saint-Saëns, Deuxième Sonate, Op. 123 in F major

  1. Maestoso, largamente
  2. Scherzo con variazioni. Allegro animato
  3. Romanza: Poco adagio
  4. Allegro non troppo, grazioso

Kevin Volans, for Bob

Franz Liszt, Première Élégie, S.130

Johannes Brahms, Cello Sonata No. 1 in E-minor, Op.38

  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Allegretto quasi menuetto
  3. Allegro


Emmanuelle Bertrand, cello
Pascal Amoyel, piano


On tour 21 - 30 March, details at