Music Network Presents, Fidelio Trio with clarinettist Carol McGonnell, from 28 March – 3 April

15 February 2012

‘We’ll jump at pretty much any chance to see stellar clarinettist Carol McGonnell in action’
Time Out New York

Music Network is delighted to present a tour with Irish clarinettist Carol McGonnell, a rising star of New York’s innovative new music scene, performing alongside the ‘virtuosic Fidelio Trio’ (Sunday Times) who have quickly established themselves as a modern ensemble to be reckoned with. Music Network tours provide a wonderful opportunity to see some of the world’s foremost musicians at affordable prices in venues around Ireland, and are presented in association with RTÉ lyric fm.  Music Network is funded by the Arts Council. Further information at

Proclaimed ‘an extraordinary clarinettist’ by the New York Times, Dublin-born Carol McGonnell has established herself as a leading solo performer and chamber musician in both the United States and Europe. A founding member of the Argento Chamber Ensemble, McGonnell’s characterful sound and passion for new music has led to collaborations with leading composers such as Esa-Pekka Salonen, Elliott Carter, Oliver Knussen and Tristan Murail. She has also performed as a soloist with many orchestras, including the Ulster Orchestra, the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and the Knights Chamber Orchestra based in New York.

For this tour McGonnell is in cahoots with contemporary chamber group Fidelio Trio, (Darragh Morgan, violin, Robin Michael, cello and Mary Dullea, piano), described by the International Record Review as ‘utterly bewitching’. Based in London, this piano trio has premièred many new works, especially by Irish composers, in Europe, the USA, South Africa and China, while joining forces with such outstanding performers such as Patricia Rozario (soprano), Roger Heaton (clarinet) and with writer Alexander McCall Smith.
Johannes Brahms: Trio in A minor for piano, clarinet/viola and cello Op. 114
Béla Bartok: Contrasts for Clarinet, Violin & Piano, Sz. 111
Olivier Messiaen: Quartet for the End of Time

Tour details here.