Music Network presents French pianist Nathalia Milstein on tour 11 – 21 October 2016

07 September 2016

Music Network presents French pianist Nathalia Milstein on tour 11 – 21 October 2016

Winner of the Dublin International Piano Competition 2015


“Her fingers are fleet and sure, and she retains her composure even when the technical demands are off the scale.” The Irish Times

“…staggering virtuosity… expressive lyricism…” The Irish Independent



Music Network welcomes back to Ireland Nathalia Milstein, who swept to victory in the 2015 Dublin International Piano Competition. Lauded for her impassioned tones and sparkling fingerwork this delightful French pianist will perform works by J.S. Bach, Mozart, Bartók, Liszt, Ravel and Irish composer Gráinne Mulvey on tour from 11 – 21 October. Music Network tours are funded by the Arts Council and are presented in association with RTÉ lyric fm. This tour is kindly supported by the Cultural Service of the French Embassy. Tour details at

Nathalia stunned Irish audiences with what one critic described as an “electrifying” performance of Prokofiev’s Second Piano Concerto at the 2015 Dublin International Piano Competition, becoming the first female winner in the history of the Competition. This has led to an impressive list of engagements including her debut recital at Carnegie Hall, a recital at Wigmore Hall in London, a tour of Germany including a recital at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig, and many other concerts. She has also performed for French television and Dutch radio and won prizes at numerous competitions, including 1st Prize at the “Flame” Youth Competition in Paris and 1st Prize in the Manchester International Concerto Competition For Young Pianists.

While possessing a phenomenal technique, Nathalia’s wonderfully expressive, heartfelt playing has quickly developed her reputation as an outstanding chamber musician in addition to her solo performances. Heavily influenced by the Russian pianistic school, her repertoire features many works by Romantic and early 20th-century composers. Her programme for the music Network tour is as follows:


J.S. Bach – Toccata in C minor, BWV 911

Mozart – Sonata in B-flat major, K. 281

Bartók – Suite “Out of Doors” Sz. 81

Liszt – Sonneto 104 del Petrarca

Gráinne Mulvey – “Interference Patterns”

Ravel - Le Tombeau de Couperin


Music Network’s mission is to make live music available and accessible to as many people as possible and the Autumn 2016 season provides an opportunity to see some of the world’s foremost musicians throughout the country at affordable prices. To celebrate Music Network’s 30th anniversary year, a number of special events and commissions are planned in addition to the Autumn tours. For Culture Night, Music Network is delighted present a very special concert in collaboration with long standing media partner, RTÉ lyric fm to be broadcast live on Friday 16th September. November sees the premiere of a Music Network-commissioned work for large-scale harp ensemble—truly a sight to behold—by the celebrated Irish composer Philip Martin.   The Philip Martin commission is one of three commissions this season, along with ‘Edges of Light’, a new collaboration between prodigiously talented dancer Colin Dunne, fiddler Tola Custy, harpist Maeve Gilchrist and uilleann piper David Power as well as a new commission by Anne Marie O’Farrell to be performed by Belgian harpist Anneleen Lenaerts and Greek clarinettist Dionysis Grammenos during their Music Network tour this November. The season ends with two very special concerts showcasing the otherworldly sounds of vocal ensemble Trio Mediæval and trumpeter Arve Henriksen. More details at

On tour 11 - 21 October, details at