Music Network presents violinists Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan and Helena Wood

09 March 2017

Music Network presents violinists Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan and Helena Wood (Ireland/UK) on tour 19th – 29th April

Leaders and Associate Leaders of Ireland's most prestigious orchestras to perform together for the first time


“A deliciously ardent violin solo from leader Mia Cooper” The Irish Times

“The performance of Mendelssohn’s youthful Octet, led by Katherine Hunka, buzzed with energy. The audience loved it” The Irish Times

“Utterly gripping… dazzling” Musical Opinion (on Woods)

“Astoria’s Escualo acts as a safety net beneath the trapeze artistry of Ioana Petcu-Colan’s violin” The Irish Times 


Music Network is thrilled to bring together for the first time Leaders and Associate Leaders of Ireland's most prestigious orchestras - Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan and Helena Wood – in an all-violin quartet from 19th – 29th April. These four exceptional violinists will perform a specially curated programme for this tour that runs the gamut from Paganini to the present day with an exciting new commission by Ian Wilson inspired by Cy Twombly’s ‘Quattro Stagioni’. More at 

Leader of the RTÉ Concert Orchestra since 2006, Mia Cooper is a highly-regarded chamber musician who has graced the stage with the Barbican Trio, Gould Trio, Brodsky Quartet, Fibonacci Sequence and Academy of St. Martin in the Fields.

Katherine Hunka, leader of the Irish Chamber Orchestra since 2002, has collaborated with Murray Perriah, Joshua Bell, Nigel Kennedy and Anthony Marwood amongst others, while Ioana Petcu-Colan, Associate Leader of the Ulster Orchestra, has worked with artists as diverse as Martin Hayes, Arcade Fire, John Abercrombie and members of the Alban Berg and Vanbrugh quartets.

Completing this stellar quartet is Helena Wood, leader of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. A seasoned performer on TV and radio, she has given numerous recitals at such prestigious venues as Wigmore Hall, Barbican Hall and the Royal Festival Hall.

As part of Music Network’s Learning and Participation programme, members of the quartet will be facilitating workshops with string ensembles/orchestras, focussing on instrumental techniques, performance skills and creative music making, connecting our work in music performance to music education and giving young musicians rich, holistic musical experiences.

Ian Wilson will give a Composers' Voice Talk on ‘Quattro Stagioni’ a new piece commissioned by Music Network for this tour, at The Courthouse Arts Centre Tinahely on Saturday 29th April. Composers' Voice is an audience development initiative of the Contemporary Music Centre and is made possible through the continued funding of the Contemporary Music Centre by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaion.

Music Network tours are funded by the Arts Council and are presented in association with RTÉ lyric fm. Tickets for all regional concerts are available from individual venues around the country. Single tickets for Dublin concerts range from €10 – €20 (including concert programme) and can be purchased by calling Music Network on (01) 475 0224 or booking online at


Rodion Shchedrin (born 1932)


Béla Bartók (1881-1945)

44 Duos, Sz. 98

(A selection from the collection)

Friedrich Hermann (1828-1907)          

Capriccio No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 2

Capriccio No. 2 in G Major, Op. 5

Ian Wilson (born 1964)

Quattro Stagioni

(New Commission by Music Network)


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Concerto in G Major, TWV 40:201

i. Largo e staccato
ii. Allegro
iii. Adagio
iv. Vivace

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Adagio in C Major

(from Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564)

Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935)


(after G.F. Handel's Suite No. 7 in G Minor for Harpsichord)

Grażyna Bacewicz (1909-1969)

Quartetto per 4 violini

i. Allegretto
ii. Andante tranquillo
iii. Molto allegro

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840)

Caprice in A Minor, Op. 1, No. 24

(Arr. by Skip Martin/Paul Frost)                                               


Mia Cooper, violin
Katherine Hunka, violin/viola
Ioana Petcu-Colan, violin
Helena Wood, violin

 On tour 19 – 29 April

  • Wednesday 19th April, St. Ann's Church, Dublin 2, 8:00 p.m., €20 / €15(Senior Citizens)/ €10 (students) Online booking fees apply Tel. 01 4750224/
  • Thursday 20th April, Birr Theatre & Arts Centre, Birr, 8:00 p.m., €17 / €15 / €5 Tel. 057 9122911/
  • Saturday 22nd April, Riverbank Arts Centre, Newbridge, 8:00 p.m., €15 / €12 Tel. 045 448327/
  • Sunday 23rd April, Pavilion Theatre, Dún Laoghaire, 8:00 p.m., €20 / €16 , Tel. 01 2312929/
  • Monday 24th April, Linenhall Arts Centre, Castlebar, 8:00 p.m., €17 / €14 Tel. 094 9023733/
  • Tuesday 25th April, Station House Theatre, Clifden, 8:00 p.m., €15 / €12 on the door, Tel. 095 21699 (info only), promoted by Clifden Arts Society
  • Thursday 27th April, Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick, 8:00 p.m., €18 /€15, Tel. 061 953400/
  • Friday 28th April, Triskel Christchurch, Cork, 8:00 p.m., €18 / €16 Tel. 021 4272022/
  • Saturday 29th April, The Courthouse Arts Centre, Tinahely, 8:30 p.m., €16 / €14, Tel. 0402 38529/


  • For further information/images, please contact: Louise Walsh, Communications Manager, Music Network: (01) 475 0224 or