28 February 2011

Music Network has today announced the deadline for the YOUNG MUSICWIDE AWARD 2011. Young Musicwide is a unique professional development scheme designed to assist a selected group of Ireland’s brightest young groups at the beginning of their professional career. This year the scheme is open to traditional Irish music groups. Through an audition process, a young, traditional Irish music group with a proven interest in performance will be selected to participate in the Young Musicwide Award programme for three years.  The closing date for completed applications is Friday 10th June 2011.  Music Network, Ireland’s national music development agency, is funded by the Arts Council.

Previous traditional groups to receive the award are Slide (2005) and Fidil (2008) whose CD “3”, released under the scheme, was described as “a masterclass in the marriage of tradition and musical exploration, and a milestone in traditional music”, (Siobhan Long, Irish Times).  As recipients of the award, both Slide and Fidil have performed in many of Music Network’s partner promoter venues throughout Ireland.  According to Ciarán Ó Maonaigh from Fidil, "the Young Musicwide Award really raised the group’s profile. We had the chance to perform in venues across Ireland and even abroad, and the support behind the production and launch of our CD was invaluable. We’ve come a long way in three years thanks, in large part, to this scheme."

Modeled on international examples, the Young Musicwide programme is designed to provide up to three musicians or ensembles annually with an incentive to pursue a professional career in music performance, and to provide promoters nationwide with access to the very best of emerging Irish talent. The main features of the award are:

•    Performance opportunities with Music Network promoters in Ireland with an agreed fee and expenses for each concert
•    Subsidised production of a professional CD and CD launch
•    Marketing tools such as a professional photoshoot and print materials, and PR support around concert activity and CD launch
•    Professional support and advice towards the development of participants’ careers as professional musicians
•    Masterclass/workshop opportunities
•    Inclusion for one member of the group on Music Network continuing professional development courses
•    A national showcase tour
•    An invitation to the group, subject to agreement, to join the Music Network Artist Roster after a three-year period

Previous recipients of the award in other genres include the Callino Quartet (2001); voice and piano duo Ailish Tynan and Deborah Kelleher (2002); clarinetist Carol McGonnell (2003); jazz group Organics (2004), piano, cello and violin trio The Syrius Trio (2006), harp, flute and viola trio, Triocca (2006), jazz trio Trihornophone (2007), piano quartet Cappa Ensemble (2009), and jazz quintet Thought-Fox (2010).
For further information and application forms available here or contact Andreas Ziemons, at (01) 671 9429 or