Top 5 reasons not to miss… Alena Baeva & Katia Skanavi

10 March 2020

1. Best in show

Since the early 2000s, Alena Baeva has been in high demand for her concerto performances, recitals, recordings and chamber music projects which have taken her all over the world. Joining the world-class violinist, dynamic chamber musician and pianist Katia Skanavi has impressed audiences, critics and fellow performers alike with her rich and intuitive interpretations of classical and contemporary music. Expect an evening of stunning magnetism with this charismatic violin and piano duo.


2. A programme to impress

The F-A-E Sonata was uniquely co-composed by Albert Dietrich, Johannes Brahms and Robert Schumann in 1853 as a tribute to the legendary virtuoso violinist Joseph Joachim, who had only just turned 22 at the time. Each of the four movements is layered with elegance, contrasts and technical challenges. When presenting the Sonata to Joachim, the three composers-in-arms asked him to identity their unsigned contributions – could you take on that challenge?

Expect evocative interplay between violin and piano, unexpected moments of high drama and interlaced intimacy from this duo’s performance of a sonata which isn’t often played.


3. First-ever Irish tour

Alena and Katia, both from Russia, have known each other a very long time. They first met during their competition days and have been a fan of each other’s playing ever since. Now the two are taking on their first-ever nationwide tour of Ireland together.


4. Celebrate a special anniversary in style

Did you know 2020 is the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth? Why not celebrate the esteemed composer as Alena and Katia perform the dramatic ‘Kreutzer’ Violin Sonata – a real highlight of the truly magnetic programme.



5. Be among the first to hear a new addition to this duo's repertoire

Baeva holds an already vast and rapidly expanding repertoire, including over forty violin concerti, and is also a champion of lesser-known works. Now, you’ll have the pleasure of hearing one of the very first performances of a new Music Network commission by New York-based Irish composer, Finola Merivale.