Musicians-in-Residence at dlr LexIcon

Call for applications: Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council Arts Office Musicians-in-Residence Scheme 2020

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and Music Network are pleased to announce details of the 2020 Musicians-in-Residence Scheme. The scheme is jointly funded by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and the Arts Council, and is managed by Music Network. Three residencies are offered in 2020: two for established musicians/groups and one for an emerging musician/group.

Established and emerging individual musicians from all genres with a strong connection to Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown are invited to apply by Thursday 20th February 2020 at 2.00pm.

The aim of the Musicians-in-Residence Scheme is to provide opportunities to develop and showcase new work which may be compositional and/or performance focused, i.e. to create new material and/or to develop a new artistic collaboration. Throughout each residency, the cultural environment of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown will be enriched through engagement by the musicians with a variety of people through a series of performances in the dlr LexIcon Studio and other off-site locations.

Musicians wishing to make a site visit to dlr LexIcon Studio in advance of the submission date will be accommodated on Tuesday 4th February 2020 at 6.00pm. Members of the DLR Arts Office and Music Network will be available on the evening to answer any specific questions. To book a place please email dlr Arts Office at with the subject line Musicians' site visit. Site visits cannot be accommodated outside of this time.

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council is delighted to support musicians through this Scheme. Since 2015, 12 individual musicians/groups have been facilitated to develop and present new work, in a variety of genres, through the Residency Programme.

Application procedure

Applicants must submit their application to Music Network by email to Hard copy applications will not be accepted. Late applications will not be accepted. 
Closing date for applications: Thursday 20th February 2020 at 2.00pm.

Application guidelines are available here. For further information, please contact Andreas Ziemons, Operations Administrator, Tel: 01 4750224 Email:


Work created during previous residencies

Residencies were awarded to Éamonn Cagney, Izumi Kimura and Lara Gallagher in 2019. Watch a playlist of videos documenting the work they created during their time at dlr LexIcon: 

Residencies were awarded to Conor Linehan, Susan McKeown and Craig Cox in 2018. Watch a playlist of videos documenting the work they created during their time at dlr LexIcon: