Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan & Helena Wood (Ireland/UK)

Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan & Helena Wood (Ireland/UK)

Tour Dates

Wed 19 Apr, 8pm St. Ann's Church, Dublin 2
Thurs 20 Apr, 8pm Birr Theatre & Arts Centre, Birr
Sat 22 Apr, 8pm Riverbank Arts Centre, Newbridge
Sun 23 Apr, 8pm Pavilion Theatre, Dún Laoghaire
Mon 24 Apr, 8pm Linenhall Arts Centre, Castlebar
Tues 25 Apr, 8pm Station House Theatre, Clifden
Thurs 27 Apr, 8pm Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick
Fri 28 Apr, 8pm Triskel Christchurch, Cork
Sat 29 Apr, 8.30pm The Courthouse Arts Centre, Tinahely*

Music Network is thrilled to bring together for the first time Leaders and Associate Leaders of Ireland's most prestigious orchestras - Mia Cooper, Katherine Hunka, Ioana Petcu-Colan and Helena Wood – in an all-violin quartet. These four exceptional violinists will perform a specially curated programme for this tour that runs the gamut from Paganini to the present day with an exciting new commission by Ian Wilson inspired by Cy Twombly’s ‘Quattro Stagioni’.

Leader of the RTÉ Concert Orchestra since 2006, Mia Cooper is a highly-regarded chamber musician who has graced the stage with the Barbican Trio, Gould Trio, Brodsky Quartet, Fibonacci Sequence and Academy of St Martin in the Fields.

Katherine Hunka, leader of the Irish Chamber Orchestra since 2002, has collaborated with Murray Perriah, Joshua Bell, Nigel Kennedy and Anthony Marwood amongst others, while Ioana Petcu-Colan, Associate Leader of the Ulster Orchestra, has worked with artists as diverse as Martin Hayes, Arcade Fire, John Abercrombie and members of the Alban Berg and Vanbrugh quartets.

Completing this stellar quartet is Helena Wood, leader of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. A seasoned performer on TV and radio, she has given numerous recitals at such prestigious venues as Wigmore Hall, Barbican Hall and the Royal Festival Hall.

Mia Cooper, violin         
Katherine Hunka, violin/viola
Ioana Petcu-Colan, violin
Helena Wood, violin


*Composer Ian Wilson - commissioned by Music Network to write a piece for this tour - will be in attendance at this concert for a Composers' Voice talk. Composers' Voice is an audience development initiative of the Contemporary Music Centre and is made possible through the continued funding of the Contemporary Music Centre by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaion. www.cmc.ie

Wed 19 Apr St. Ann's Church, Dublin 2 8pm , €20 / €15 / €10 (students) (online booking fees apply) 01 4750224 Music Network
Thurs 20 Apr Birr Theatre & Arts Centre, Birr 8pm , €17 / €15 / €5 057 9122911
Sat 22 Apr Riverbank Arts Centre, Newbridge 8pm , €15 / €12 045 448327
Sun 23 Apr Pavilion Theatre, Dún Laoghaire 8pm , €20 / €16 01 2312929
Mon 24 Apr Linenhall Arts Centre, Castlebar 8pm , €17 / €14 094 9023733
Tues 25 Apr Station House Theatre, Clifden 8pm , €15 / €12 (on the door) 095 21699 (info only) Clifden Arts Society
Thurs 27 Apr Lime Tree Theatre, Limerick 8pm , €18 / €15 061 953400
Fri 28 Apr Triskel Christchurch, Cork 8pm , €18 / €16 021 4272022
Sat 29 Apr The Courthouse Arts Centre, Tinahely* 8.30pm , €16 / €14 0402 38529

Rodion Shchedrin (born 1932)


Béla Bartók (1881-1945)

44 Duos, Sz. 98

(A selection from the collection)                                 

Friedrich Hermann (1828-1907)                          

Capriccio No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 2

Capriccio No. 2 in G Major, Op. 5

Ian Wilson (born 1964)                                

Quattro Stagioni*

(New Commission by Music Network)


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Concerto in G Major, TWV 40:201 

i. Largo e staccato      
ii. Allegro
iii. Adagio
iv. Vivace

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)  

Adagio in C Major

(from Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564, arr. by Mia Cooper)

Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935)       


(after G.F. Handel's Suite No. 7 in G Minor for Harpsichord)

Grażyna Bacewicz (1909-1969)                             

Quartetto per 4 violini        

i. Allegretto
ii. Andante tranquillo
iii. Molto allegro

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840)                      

Caprice in A Minor, Op. 1, No. 24

(Arr. by Skip Martin, adapted by Paul Frost)

Katherine Hunka – Monti: Czardas

"A deliciously ardent violin solo from leader Mia Cooper"

- The Irish Times

"The performance of Mendelssohn’s youthful Octet, led by Katherine Hunka, buzzed with energy. The audience loved it"

- The Irish Times

"Utterly gripping….dazzling"

- Musical Opinion [on Woods]

"Astor Piazzolla’s Escualo acts as a safety net beneath the trapeze artistry of Ioana Petcu-Colan’s violin."

- The Irish Times