Kevin Brady and Ikigai announced as next dlr Musicians-in-Residence for 2020 

Kevin Brady and Ikigai announced as next dlr Musicians-in-Residence for 2020 
Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council and Music Network have announced Kevin Brady, on behalf of the Tommy Halferty Trio, and chamber group Ikigai as the second and third awardees of the Musician-in-Residence Programme for 2020. The scheme is jointly funded by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and the Arts Council and managed by Music Network.

Drummer and percussionist Kevin Brady will be Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council’s Musician-in-Residence during September and October, while Ikigai, a chamber group featuring violinist Andrew Sheeran, cellist Gabrielė Dikčiūtė and pianist Maja Elliott, will undertake the final residency of 2020 during October and November.

Commenting on the Residency, Cathaoirleach of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council Cllr. Una Power said: “We had a very successful first Residency of 2020 with Dave Flynn so we’re very much looking forward to Kevin Brady and Ikigai working in the county over the next few months.”

During his two-month Residency, Kevin Brady and the other members of the Tommy Halferty Trio will explore and compose music influenced by Música instrumental Brasileira (Brazilian instrumental music). This style refers to jazz and other forms of instrumental music inspired by great Brazilian composers such as Hermeto Pascoal, Antônio Carlos Jobim and Antonio Adolfo. Tudo E Som (Everything is Sound), the new programme of music that will be developed by the trio during the Residency, will celebrate the diversity of culture in Ireland today.

During their two-month Residency in October and November, Ikigai will explore material which has inspired them as a group, whilst also working on their own individual compositions. Their performance on 22nd November will showcase the trio’s diverse musical interests, and will feature exciting new work alongside unique interpretations of existing material.

Kevin Brady has been a member of the Tommy Halferty Trio for over 10 years, performing alongside double bassist Dave Redmond and guitarist Tommy Halferty. Kevin honed his global style through study in New York and Havana, and has performed at the legendary Sydney Opera House and Ronnie Scott’s club in London, as well as at international jazz festivals from Cork to Columbia.

Ikigai members Andrew Sheeran, Gabrielė Dikčiūtė and Maja Elliott’s musical careers have been inspired by a wide range of styles from classical and Baroque music to indie-rock, folk and experimental genres. As members of the contemporary chamber ensemble Glasshouse, Andrew and Gabrielė have performed pieces by indie-folk artists such as Sufjan Stevens and Bon Iver as well as by minimalist composers such as Max Richter, Johann Johannson and Olafur Arnalds. Influenced by the creative experiences of collaborating with musicians from a range of different musical genres, Andrew and Gabrielė came together with jazz pianist and European folk singer Maja Elliott to form Ikigai.

Commenting on the announcement CEO of Music Network Sharon Rollston said: “We are delighted to announce the second and third dlr Musician Residencies for 2020. Kevin Brady and the Tommy Halferty Trio and recently formed chamber group Ikigai each reflect the impressive and culturally rich variety of music on offer to Irish audiences today. We are very much looking forward to the culminating performances by both groups on 15th October and 22nd November respectively, as the 2020 dlr Residencies conclude.”

The Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Musicians-in-Residence Scheme provides opportunities for performers and composers to develop and showcase new work and cultivate new artistic collaborations. The residences also serve to enrich the cultural environment of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown through engagement with local community groups.

Previous Musicians-in-Residence have included composer and guitarist Dave Flynn, percussionist and composer Éamonn Cagney, improvising pianist and composer Izumi Kimura, composer, sound designer and multi-instrumentalist Lara Gallagher, vocalist and songwriter Susan McKeown, pianist and composer Conor Linehan, sound artist and composer Craig Cox, musician and composer Sebastian Adams, The Eidola Trio featuring Malachy Robinson (viola de gamba) Eamon Sweeney (baroque guitar, lute) and Anita Vedres (baroque violin), Elizabeth Hilliard and Grainne Mulvey (Opera), Matthew Jacobson (Jazz Drummer) and Metier (Jazz Quintet led by Ronan Guilfoyle).